developing practice, Development practice progress, obsession

Obsession – Developing Practice Video Moving and Still images.For submission

My intention for this video is to represent the older generation in Knowle West, in an area and location that the events are held where I have family connections, Knowle West and the Community Centre are places where my roots of my family  have been from for several generations.

After speaking with the people that attend the Tea dance it is evident that this group is an important part of their lives, for so many reasons, all the elements that make this so important for them is for the social and physical aspects, as well as to get out from their homes, where they become invisilble which results to loneliness and in some cases depression.

The people that attend this group range from eighty years upwards, they are an inspiration to the next generation.  Unfotunately sequence and Waltz style of dancing is dying off, due to no one learnig or practicing this kind of dancing anymore, whcih is a shame.

When I was a child from the age of four year I began ballroom dancing, and I really enjoy this style of dance.  I had a dancing partner who was in the Second World War and every festive season we would have a dance or two together, unfortunately he passed away last year he was my hero for so many reasons.

This generation are my inspiration, they have so much to tell us and are full of interesting information, many have achieved so many amazing things along their journey in life.

When the Tea dance first started there were around one hundred peopele that attended about twenty years ago (approx) now you can them on your hand, it is a shame such a long lived dance is almost at an end.

My other just as important factor for  my video is the ambient light, where I demonstrate creatively through my imagery the way the light flows, it catcches my subjects in an effective, beautiful and dramatic way, as well as the dance floor where it flows across  creating a spot light effect, where the subjects dance on and around this natural ambient light.

The room where both the Tea dance and Friendship group are held have very long windows each side of the hall, so there is always some form or amazing natural light source for me to work with.

Friendship group: this is a very large group with varied ages that attend to play bingo, there are also people who have specific needs. There are many positive factors with this group such as the mentally stimilating aspects and social interaction which this group offers.  It gets people out from their homes and is an important part of all of their lives.

 

 

 

 

 

video-link

Knowle West Community groups

Leave a Reply

